Teaching and Work

Tips For Studying

Hi everyone, the last few years I made some blank timetables for students so they could plan their studying on the lead up to exams. This year I’ll be giving this to anyone I’m tutoring.

Here is a link to the editable document I made: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1TtQRMaC1SdoIwL8QDAmzd-ptwuvIJj3mFqFlxmnAhLk/edit?usp=sharing

study-timetable

 

I’ve stuck in dates from March and also the most popular Scottish exams (which you can change or take out). You can print it out or keep it on your phone or computer. I used to like to hang one of these up on my wall and ticked it off as I went along.

 

I also have a few tips for anyone starting to study.

#1. Try different studying techniques. I liked to add pictures to my notes or mind maps to help me remember facts.

#2. Don’t just read your notes. You will never remember them like this. You have to write them out again or test yourself or try exam questions.

#3. Don’t study too much or too little. I’ve found 45 minutes per subject is perfect. I would pick two subjects to study per day.

#4. Give yourself days off but stick to your schedule. I would always take a Saturday off but make it suit your life.

#5. Homework doesn’t count as studying. If you think you can get away with doing homework and you’ll do the best you possibly can in an exam, then you’ll be disappointed.

#6. Just before the exam, write down everything that you struggle to remember on 1 A4 sheet. These are usually things like numbers, dates, processes, quotes and diagrams. Read this sheet over and over again as you wait to go in.

#7. When you get into the exam, turn to the back of the paper and write down anything you struggle with. If you do it in pencil you can rub it out later. Do this before opening your paper (but don’t spend more than 5 minutes on this).

#8. When you get a multiple choice question, cover up the answers and try to think what your answer might be. If you uncover them and see it, you’ll feel more confident in your answer. If you don’t see it then go back to the question and rule out answers.

#9. When you read a question, underline the important points or translate the difficult words (important in biology. e.g. synthesis means making). This will help you understand what they’re really asking you.

#10. In essays, always make a rough plan first. If you’re doing biology you don’t need to rub this out as there are no points for structure.

 

Leave a Reply

