Adventures

Choosing The Disney Dining Plan

Last May I received a tax rebate so we decided to book a trip to Walt Disney World. A lot has changed since our last Disney trip; we both have full time jobs and we’re currently in the process of applying for Skilled Work Visas for British Columbia. Since we’re hoping to move in the summer, this will be a chance to have a few months of travelling. At some point in between this, we’ll be on holiday. I always joke that at least we’re guaranteed to eat during those few weeks!11052368_10205114115125551_3651382909293137443_n

Originally we had looked into staying in The Clarion Inn at Lake Buena Vista again, since we enjoyed our stay so much last time. Sadly, prices have gone up. Then we saw an advert for free Disney Dining when you book a Disney World hotel. Dreams do come true!

The deal included the Quick Service Dining Plan which we decided to upgrade to the Dining Plan for £180 each for the two weeks. Below you will see a table with what you get from each of the plans.

Plan

What You Get Per Person Per Day Cost for Adults Per Day Cost for Children Per Day

Quick Service

2 counter service meals, 2 snacks, unlimited drinks using your refillable drinks mug at certain places $46.34

$20.18

Disney Dining Plan 1 counter service meal, 1 sit down meal, 2 snacks, unlimited drinks using your refillable drinks mug at certain places $67.33

$24.22

Deluxe Disney Dining Plan 3 meals from either counter service or sit down restaurants (your choice), 2 snacks, unlimited drinks using your refillable drinks mug at certain places $103.57

$37.62

Every day you have a “table credit” which you can spend each day or save up. Most restaurants cost 1 table credit but the signature ones cost 2. Some days we’ll be eating outside of Disney so we can just use the table credits from those nights.

We’ve research which restaurants to visit using Pinterest. Below are the ones we have chosen, along with their location, the number of credits they cost and why we chose them. We’re a young, childless couple and I think our choices reflect that. We tried to steer away from shows and interactive experiences but those would be great for children.

 

Ohana – 1 Credit, Disney’s Polynesian Village Resort, near Magic Kingdom

Our plan on the first day is to have a nap, then grab some dinner and go to Magic Kingdom to watch the fireworks and go on a few rides. We picked a restaurant that is nearby so we don’t need to hop around a lot. We’re hoping to see Lilo and Stitch too!

 

Coral Reef – 1 Credit, Epcot65948_1686328840569_3352766_n

This was my favourite restaurant when I went with my friends in 2009. I’m a big fish geek having studied Marine Biology (Vince actually is a Marine Technician but I think he’s a little less enthusiastic…). I know this is hard to get into so it’s one of the restaurants I’ll be booking first.

 

T-Rex – 1 Credit, Disney Springs

This is purely a childish choice. We love dinosaurs so what could be better than eating around them. We’re hoping it’s kind of like Rainforest Cafe. I even have a dinosaur dress I’m going to wear!

 

Teppan Edo – 1 Credit, Epcot

11150982_10206611646192352_7277484331639042187_nWe love Japanese food so took every opportunity to have some. When I was younger I got badly burnt at a Teppenyaki restaurant so I won’t be joining in.

 

Kona Cafe – 1 Credit, Disney’s Polynesian Village Resort

As I said, we love Japanese food. How much sushi is too much? We’re actually going here twice; once for dinner and once for breakfast.

 

Mama Melrose’s – 1 Credit, Hollywood Studios 

I wanted to go to see the show Fantasmic and this is one of the 3 restaurants (Hollywood Brown Derby and Hollywood and Vine are the others) that allow you to sit in the reserved seating. I remember it had lovely Italian Food but I’m hoping I can substitute a Caprese salad instead of dessert.

 

San Angel Inn – 1 Credit, Epcot

Every time I’ve been on The Three Caballeros Ride in Mexico I’ve wanted to eat in this restaurant. The atmosphere reminds me of The Pirates of the Caribbean restaurant in Euro Disney but I hope the food is a little better.

 

1150846_10206645277313109_8124741215391792784_nHouse of Blues – 1 Credit, Disney Springs

We ate here last time and it was amazing. The fried chicken was the size of my head! This will give us a chance to have a wander around Disney Springs that night too.

 

 

Yak and Yeti – 1 Credit, Animal Kingdom

The choice in this restaurant seems great. We love Asian inspired food so we thought this would be a good choice. I’ll be having the Malaysian Seafood Curry if it’s available on the Dining Plan.

 

California Grill – 2 Credits, Disney’s Contemporary Resort, near Magic Kingdom

I hope we can book into this. At the top of The Contemporary Resort, it has amazing views of the fireworks in Magic Kingdom. Apparently it sells out quickly so I’ll be booking this first.

 

72751_1684753241180_7516230_n

Sci-Fi Dine In – 1 Credit, Hollywood Studios

I didn’t rate this place much when I last went but Vince wanted to go. After looking at the menu I saw it had changed so I was happy to give it another go. It will also be a more relaxed day because we won’t have to go home to change.
 

 

Raglan Road – 1 Credit, Disney Springs

A child hood favourite. My parents weren’t huge Disney fans but they loved going to, what was then, Downtown Disney and visiting this restaurant. Irish and Scottish culture is quite similar so there were always things on the menu that I recognised.

 

You can book your restaurants 180 days in advance which just happens to be on an inservice day for me. I know what I’ll be doing at lunch time! Hopefully we’ll get all of our choices and then I can review the restaurants on this blog.

C x

 

Leave a Reply

