Books and Writing

My Most Anticipated Books of 2017

 

These are the books I’ve pre-ordered so far. 2017 is going to be a great year for New Adult fantasy.

2nd February: Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton51tkz9la3gl-_sx323_bo1204203200_

Next week, the sequel to Rebel of the Sands is released and I’m sure it’ll be as popular as the first book. The first book is like a Western with Middle-Eastern setting and mythology.  It’s about a young woman who is trying to escape her home town and when she comes across a mysterious foreigner she thinks she has her chance to get out. There are high speed train fights, gun fights and adventure. It kinda reminded me of Firefly which is really exciting because I love the series. It’s unusual and I was really glad I picked it up. Also, the book cover is so pretty! It would be great if more people got in on this series.

 

 

9th February: King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard41k4xwmpxtl

The third book in the Red Queen trilogy. Red Queen really got me started reading all the time again, something which helped me cope with depression and anxiety. When I read it I thought “This is the story I’ve been waiting for.” People are divided into two groups by blood, the Reds and the Silvers. The Silvers have super human powers and rule the Reds who live in poverty. The main character, Mare, is a Red but she soon discovers she has powers of her own. I can’t wait to see where this story goes.

 

 

2nd March: The Scarecrow Queen by Melinda Salisbury51oii69xizl

When I read the first book in this series, The Sin Eater’s Daughter, I thought it was interesting but nothing special. The second book was so much better and I hope it’ll be topped again by the third. This is more of a dark fairy tale. In the first book, Twylla is the main character. She is a living goddess, who’s very touch is enough to kill anyone. She lives with the royal family (who are immune) and performs executions. Everyone in the castle fears her, except her new guard who quickly becomes her friend. But the Queen has promised Twylla to her son, and will see any disobedience from her as treason. The second book was about a young woman named Errin who is trying to care for her sick mother. But her mother’s sickness seems almost supernatural. I don’t want to give anything else away but this book should bring together Twylla’s and Errin’s stories in a gripping climax to the series.

 

 

2nd May: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maasacowar2

Aah I’m so excited for this! This is the third book in A Court of Thorns and Roses series. The first book was a take on Beauty and the Beast. Maas has also said that the second was based on the tale of Hades and Persephone. It seems like this is everywhere at the moment, with fan theories and art all over Pinterest and Tumblr. Feyre is again in The Spring Court and I can’t wait to see what mischief she causes. A Court of Mist and Fury was so tense in the end so I feel almost breathless to find out what will happen. I’m hoping we get lots more Rhysand 😉

 

 

6th September: Throne of Glass 6 by Sarah J. Maas

This is the sixth book in the Throne of Glass series which follows Celaena Sardothien, a bad ass assassin. Those of you who have read the other books will know it’s not quite that simple and A LOT has changed since the first book. Book 5, Empire of Storms was heartbreaking and I feel like my heart will not heal until I see how this ends. The series is also being made into a tv show by Hulu.

 

One thought on “My Most Anticipated Books of 2017

Leave a Reply

