Uncategorized

Social Media Time

For a person who sits at her computer a lot I’m not very active on social media. Sure, I’ll post an odd photo on Instagram, or a gripe on Facebook, but ask me to get into Twitter? Isn’t that where politicians go to moan and celebrities have rows?

So my heart sank when I was watching a video about marketing your book by Jenna Moreci (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VKBlwJ_UHNE). If you’re a new writer and you don’t know who she is, that’s a real shame. She makes videos about the writing process which she knows a lot about since she’s a published author. I bought her book, Eve: The Awakening a week ago, which I’ll be reading after I finish The Grisha Trilogy. Every time I get a bit stuck with my writing, I stick on one of her videos and she always inspires me to think a bit out of the box.

I flicked on this particular video this morning while I was doing my make up and I was enlightened. Marketing, she stated, should be done while you write your first book. As a newbie in the game, I have absolutely no idea what I am doing. I thought that first you write a book, then you get it edited, then someone hopefully wants to publish it or you self publish. What I didn’t think about was how anyone is ever going to know about it. Jenna says that you will always have to do the marketing yourself, whether you have a publisher or not. And so, when I got home from school today, I remade my nest of pillows, opened the computer and started with Twitter. Thar she blows: https://twitter.com/cwheelerauthor

And also I have a website, which you are now reading. How meta.

With regards to the book: it’s a YA fantasy, based on Scottish folklore. I’m 23,000 words in but I’ve been having trouble sticking to my 1000 words a day target because I’ve just started a new job as a Pupil Support Teacher in two local primary schools. In between doing courses on autism or running Duke of Edinburgh clubs I’m trying to write a book that I would want to read. Evenings in the Wheeler-Logan household are mostly spent on separate couches, clicking away at keyboards. Every now and then, one of us will provide the other with a beer. Thank goodness for Innis and Gunn and Vince.

C x

Leave a Reply

